So, You Want To Be a Writer

You MUST do this one thing, a lot and always.

Michael Werner
The Shortform
1 min readAug 15, 2022

--

Photo by Super Snapper on Unsplash

After 30 years running a publishing company, I’ve returned to the career I had before: Writing.

The first question I ask any new or wannabe writer is:

What are you reading these days?

Then I ask:

What have you learned from that?

If you’re a writer and you’re not reading, the odds are against you.

Reading helps you with dozens of things, but the two most important are:

  • You learn techniques that others use.
  • You then find ways to STEAL those techniques.

I’m not talking about plagiarizing, but rather about stealing the way a writer formulates sentences or plot or moves a reader from one page to the next.

So, that’s it, writer friends.

Read until you fall asleep.

Then wake up tomorrow and read some more.

--

--

Michael Werner
The Shortform

I write about 1950s -60s America, business, and publishing; mostly fun things, but sometimes I cry. I also share recipes from my wife’s Aztec ancestors.