Luck of birth

Solo Travel, Through An Alternative Lens | Child Border Crossing

While traveling solo comes with its own challenges, it’s nothing compared to what migrant children face when making the journey to the United States

K. Joseph
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readOct 24, 2022

--

Boy in a white shirt
Photo by Shravan K Acharya on Unsplash

A story on NPR’s Up First podcast struck a chord with me. It was about a young child, Javier Zamora, who made the journey from Central America to the United States alone. This story put my experience of taking a solo trip into perspective. While I felt joy traveling alone as a privileged North American woman, it is a sharp contrast to what Zamora experienced. Will you listen to Zamora’s 20-minute story at your leisure? Then perhaps subject yourself to contemplation if you feel called to do so. I felt called to share the story with you.

🙏🏾 Thanks for reading. Please clap, comment — I’d love to hear your reactions to this content. 🧟‍♀️ About me.

--

--

K. Joseph
The Shortform

Change management leader sharing ideas and experiences that may help you navigate the world of work with your fellow humans.