BECOME MORE EFFECTIVE

Stop Wasting Your Effort: Unleash the Power of Focused Action Now

When taking action alone isn’t enough

Nimish Jalan
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readJul 4, 2024

--

Photo by Massimo Sartirana on Unsplash

Last year I came across the following quote by the legendary Wayne Gretzky

“You Miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.”

This 9-word sentence has packed a bigger, deeper, more intense effect on my thinking than most other things I’ve read since.

It has changed me, my behaviour and my attitude.

It has helped me stay on track and achieve things I believed impossible until I read this quote.

I went from avoiding shots to attempting more shots.

At the 1 year mark, I’ve just had an epiphany — a new realization.

I must keep taking shots but I need to take well-directed shots. Shots on goal.

Learning to take a shot was step 1. Now, taking a shot that’s more precise is step 2.

I can reduce the effort but focus on increasing the precision.

It’s why doing it alone isn’t enough anymore.

What do you think?

--

--

Nimish Jalan
The Shortform

Prioritizing writing, experiments, failure and growth. Committed to write 365 days straight! Come say hi :)