Sunrise

Sam Ochstein
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readMar 2, 2022

--

Photo by Tobias Greitzke on Unsplash

The other day I was driving east on the I-80/90 toll road, the usual route for my morning commute.

My days start early and I typically drive to work in the dark.

However, on this day I got a later start than usual.

As I raced along in my 2012 Jeep Wrangler, sipping coffee, and listening to the morning radio show on the local hard rock station, the sun pierced the dark blue-gray clouds of early morning with brilliant hues of orange and red.

Darkness was dispelled as I drove into the heart of the sunrise.

Suddenly, I found myself silently praying:

Thank you for a beautiful morning.

And I remembered a line from Psalm 19 in the Bible:

The heavens declare the glory of God;

The skies proclaim the work of his hands.

It’s poetry.

Because sunrises can’t really be described.

They can only be experienced.

--

--

Sam Ochstein
The Shortform

Former Pastor | Reader | Writer | Walker | Whiskey Lover | Contemplative Extrovert | MMin, MATS