Supermarkets

They offer a lot of choices

John Douglas Porter
The Shortform
Published in
Mar 30, 2024

--

Image by ElasticComputeFarm from Pixabay

In the cereal aisle, I see Frosted Flakes, Cheerios, Kix, Trix, Life, Coco Puffs, Lucky Charms, Rice Krispies, Fruit Loops, Shredded Wheat, Honey Bunches of Oats, Raisin Bran, and Wheaties. In the dairy case, I see Chobani, Yoplait, Oikos, Dannon, Fage, Cabot, Siggi’s Skyr, Stonyfield Farms, Wallaby Organic, and Activia. In the meat department, the seafood department, the produce department, the dessert case, and the beer and wine sections, I see all kinds of things.

Sometimes I wonder how most of the people in the world would react to the number of choices I have.

I’m fairly sure that most of those people would at first be overwhelmed, then very grateful.

* * *

Copyright © 2024 by John Porter. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

John Douglas Porter
The Shortform

John Porter manages his family’s cattle ranch in California, where he also writes screenplays, essays, and stories.