Talking to Yourself

You can say almost anything

John Douglas Porter
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readMar 28, 2024

--

Image by mcmurryjulie from Pixabay

I stood in line at my bank, looking at my checkbook, and trying to decide how much I could safely withdraw. I needed to buy something with cash. I don’t remember what it was, but I do remember that I didn’t have a lot in my account. I must have been calculating out loud because a woman in front of me turned and asked, “What are you mumbling about?” I answered (irritably, I’m afraid), “I’m having a private conversation.”

I still have private conversations because for me spoken words are more tangible than thoughts. I talk about all kinds of things, sometimes praising myself, sometimes criticizing.

I’ve learned I can say anything — with one exception. As my dear friend Audrey told me, “Never say to yourself, ‘Now, if I were you . . .’”

* * *

Copyright © 2024 by John Porter. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

John Douglas Porter
The Shortform

John Porter manages his family’s cattle ranch in California, where he also writes screenplays, essays, and stories.