The Best Advice from My Dad When I Was 18

Not all Indian children stay with their parents until they are married. The rest of the world never believes it though.

Jothi PM
The Shortform

--

AI-generated in OpenArt, Read this story for free here

I was that Indian kid who moved out when I was 18 to pursue education in the city.

Indian parents always try to have control over their kids’ personal lives, goals and relationships.

But my dad was different and amazing at parenting.

Once when I was doing something wrong, he told me, “It’s your life, in your hands”.

He did not blame me. He did not point out all the wrong things. He did not take charge of my life. Instead, he let me feel accountable for whatever I did wrong. It gave me confidence in making decisions afterwards.

If he had not said what he said, I would have been devastated at how awkward my life was and doubted my every move after that.

Read this next!

--

--

Jothi PM
The Shortform

Writing Life lessons ~ Notion Template Creator ~ Solopreneur. Join my newsletter: https://jothipm.substack.com/ to grow with me