The Crack in the Wall of My Study

My miniscule reminder of the outside world

Jae Choi
The Shortform
1 min readDec 4, 2022

--

Photo by Hoi Pham on Unsplash

Years back, while reorganizing, I noticed a crack in the wall behind a mini shelf storing my CD collection. Not longer than a teaspoon, I figured I’d seal it within the week. Yet as I sat with legs crossed, taking a breather from moving around desks all morning, I found myself staring through that crack a great deal.

I quietly observed the green foliage of my yard. The study’s only window faced the street, giving a front row seat to zooming cars and boisterous children. The only visible movement through the crack was the slight swaying of grass in the breeze. I studied the yellow of a single dandelion peeking in and decided to keep the crack to better connect with the simple joys of nature.

Unfortunately, the following month I noticed a troop of ants sneaking through, searching for crumbs to pillage, so the crack was covered once again.

--

--

Jae Choi
The Shortform

Short fiction and content writer. Expressing thoughts from the heart and feelings expanded by the mind.