The Day You Left

Kaitrin Neu
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readAug 4, 2022
Photo by Michael Benz on Unsplash

Grief is metaphysical, not substantial or concrete. It has no agenda or emotion of its own. It does not pick and choose, but when you feel it, there is no pain like something that is abstract.

Picture water, clear and cold but flowing softly in a methodical motion. This is what it felt like the day you left. There was no reason to think that July 3rd would be a radically life-changing day.

The weight of your passing was instantaneous, a wave of grief swallowing me whole, choking me until I gasped for air. I knew it was irreversible but where was the denial? At least I could have hidden there for a while.

No longer was there a cooling calm, but a storm that raged viciously and violently. The waves crashing over and over, threatening to drown me in the wake of your passing.

--

--

Kaitrin Neu
The Shortform

Aspiring writer, lover of poetry, & avid journal girl