The Elegance of Brevity

Say more with less

Ani Eldritch
The Shortform
20 hours ago

--

Art Lasovsky took this close-up photo of a gold fountain pen.
Photo by Art Lasovsky on Unsplash

As I squinted at the bleak, endlessly scrolling screen, I realized that the tyranny of length had shackled my creativity.

With their elaborate machinations and convoluted twists, full-length narratives seemed almost quaint now.

Why not distill, refine, and embrace the sharp precision of short form?

This wasn’t mere reduction but liberation – a stripping away of the superfluous to reveal the raw essence.

In my new enthusiasm, each sentence became a miniature revolution, each word a carefully chosen soldier.

The satisfaction of achieving profundity within constraints was intoxicating. Every fragment and snippet felt like a rebellion against the verbose hegemony.

The ultimate epiphany? Freedom isn’t in the expansiveness but in the elegance of brevity. Thus, the liberator’s paradox is to say more with less.

--

--

Ani Eldritch
The Shortform

I am a writer/poet and Gen Z New Yorker. My publication is The Dapper Owl. Jazz inspires me. Earl Grey tea and Thai food keep me going. Welcome.