The End of the Quarter-life Crisis.

Maria Valevsky
The Shortform
Published in
Aug 16, 2021

In other words, happy birthday!

A group of friends is blowing up the candles on a birthday cake
Photo by Polina Tankilevitch from Pexels

I celebrated my 25th birthday yesterday. And I finally realized something.
I know what I want to do with my life.
This feeling is so refreshing, I still can’t believe it.

I’ve been fixating on “What Should I Be When I Grow Up?” ever since I graduated. Should I sacrifice an opportunity to have a job I enjoy for a better salary?
Should I open a business?

Then it hit me. My dream hasn’t changed in 10 years.
I wanted to be a writer when I was 14, 17, 20, and all the ages in between.

I was too afraid to fail, so I didn’t even try.

Writing is something I keep coming back to. It’s my first real love.

Now it’s my responsibility to make sure my dream becomes my reality.
Wish me luck.

--

--

Maria Valevsky
The Shortform

Writer | Exploring the Worlds of Mental Health, Culture & Media | Twitter/Instagram @mariavalevsky