The Eye Contact Though

A Neurodivergent’s Masking Manners Thoughts

Shanna | GYST Assisting LLC
The Shortform

--

Photo by Bernard Hermant on Unsplash

Smile and say “good morning” or “how are you today”, even though this is a stranger that I am talking to and I’d rather not, but it’s what we are supposed to do in society.

I just want to make a bank deposit and stare at the wall while you do it. Please don’t start talking to me about the weather or how my day is going. It’s painful, truly painful.

Don’t forget to make eye contact. But not too much to where you are staring into at their face because I’m uncomfortable and they probably think I’m a creeper. But enough that I hopefully come across as a ‘normal’ person, whatever the hell that is.

Remember that when it’s time to go to smile again and say “thank you, have a good day.

I am now mentally exhausted.

--

--

Shanna | GYST Assisting LLC
The Shortform

Business Systems & Strategies | OBM | Virtual Assistant ➡️ I will help your Get Your Systems Sh*t Together 🌟 Let's ADHD Together www.gystassist.com/links