The Flattery Strategy

A positive way of getting out of anything …

Chris Arestides, RN MPH
The Shortform

--

Photo by Piotr Wilk on Unsplash

Incompetence or flattery- which strategies work in your home?

Growing up, my children’s first approach to maintaining inertia was the incompetence strategy.

“I don’t know how to … (fill in with undesired task).”

“I don’t know how to make my bed.”

Variation: “I’m terrible at folding laundry.”

An effective incompetence strategy is all about presentation — Let’s go for meek, helpless, and innocently, sweetly, ignorant.

My son was skilled, but my co-parent was the master.

“Honey, I don’t know how to fix a toilet.” Or put the kids to bed. Or…

Shrugs. Walks away.

Fuming. Feeling the mood buster “Can we talk about this?” burning inside.

Just when I am at my wit’s end, out comes the flattery strategy.

“But, mom, you’re so much better at it,” with a grin.

“But, honey, you’re great at fixing things,” with a kiss.

--

--

Chris Arestides, RN MPH
The Shortform

Telling stories, sharing observations, and research to help people live their best and healthiest life and to help professionals help people on this journey.