The Realisation You Need To Make The Most Of Your Notes

Maha Ahmed
The Shortform
Published in
Nov 1, 2022
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Every morning, I have the same ritual.

I turn on my computer, block out time to read and take notes on Glasp. I didn’t even start, and I’m already excited.

At this point, my instinct takes over.

Everything seems so interesting. There’s that sentence … And oh, that one too. I should highlight everything, right?

Wrong!

That’s what happens when you’re reading mindlessly. Reality is, if everything is important, nothing is.

“But if I highlighted it, shouldn’t it mean something?”

Your brain found it meaningful enough for you to want to remember it.

“I don’t remember...”

Here’s what you can do to avoid that problem.

When you highlight something, ask yourself:

  • What does it inspire me?
  • Does it remind me of anything else I’ve read or experienced?
  • Do I agree (or disagree) with the author?

--

--

Maha Ahmed
The Shortform

Nicheless creator. I write about everything that comes in my mind but mostly on self-improvement and writing. Read more here : https://twitter.com/heymaha