The Reason My Words Are Always Wet With Tears

Why is it that I begin to cry the moment I speak my truth?

Anika Jennifer Mariel
The Shortform
1 min readJul 25, 2024

--

Photo by Claudia Wolff on Unsplash

I’ve always had a hard time talking about my heartfelt feelings without shedding tears. No matter how hard I try, it’s become an involuntary reflex that I can’t control. I used to be frustrated with myself and ashamed to open up, even to the people who were closest to me, because I knew that I’d inevitably end up bawling. Until recently, I used to see it as a flaw, a sign of weakness.

Some people can stifle their tears, bottle up their feelings, and lock them away in a hidden vault in their minds, but that’s not me. Embracing even the parts of ourselves that we’d like to change is the first step towards self-acceptance. I now believe that crying while articulating my emotions reflects the intensity with which I feel, a trait that I’d genuinely like to be proud of.

Miscellaneous Thoughts

13 stories

--

--

Anika Jennifer Mariel
The Shortform

Passionate writer with a desire to spark discussions and explore perspectives on both light-hearted and significant topics. Don't forget to follow!