Thoughts About 2020, Four Years Later

Sanchari Pait
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readApr 21, 2024
Photo taken by the author of own collection.

I’m seated at a corner table at the local Starbucks. I’m not a regular-my employer reimburses my snacks and beverages- so I’m here, using my allowance before April ends.

From my position, I have a full view of the ground floor of the mall. It’s nice to see families and Bumble date couples happily ambling around, occasionally interrupted by squeaking shoes of little kids. A few carry brown bags from H&M, but most of them are window shoppers ultimately headed to the food court-you know!

In April 2020, coffee I was drinking was a failed attempt at the stupid Dalgona coffee. Back then, this place must have resembled a ghost town-all the pretty aesthetics robbed of life by the absence of breathing, talking, moving humans.

Boring Sunday mornings spent at coffee shops surrounded by cheerful, safe, healthy humans is more important than my pre-2020 self imagined.

--

--

Sanchari Pait
The Shortform

Writes about actionable self-improvement, travel, art & books