CODEPENDENCY | TRUST | RELATIONSHIPS

Trust is Black or White. It Cannot Survive in the Grey Zone

Trust is earned, not decided

Judy Walker
The Shortform
Published in
2 min readDec 6, 2022

--

A monochrome image of a woman hugging her man.
Photo by cottonbro studio in Pexels

I once believed that trust was something I could decide to feel. Even if there were red flags, I’d still trust. Even after experiencing a betrayal, I’d dust off my knees and decide that the past is the past and I can start fresh trusting this person from that moment on.

Doesn’t everyone deserve a second, third…fifth chance? I thought. The other person didn’t have to change. It was up to me to change my view of them.

This pattern repeated until I reached a point of emotional exhaustion from denying reality.

In recovery from codependency, I’m learning that it is not my responsibility to trust someone who has shown themselves to be untrustworthy.

Through their actions, it is their job to show me that they are worthy of my trust.

I steer clear of those who have proven themselves untrustworthy.

What is your relationship with trust?

--

--

Judy Walker
The Shortform

Curiosity led. Relationship fed. Writing about the gritty, lovely, naughty, and joyful bits of humanhood. jituska.jw@gmail.com