Unbelievable, Exciting Life Moments

The destiny of a man is unpredictable

Indra Raj Pathak
The Shortform
Aug 23, 2022

--

Photo by Alexander Schimmeck on Unsplash

I was absolutely ecstatic to have a glimpse of my friend after thirty years.

Yesternight, his younger brother informed me about his arrival. I was at the airport with his visual image that I sketched in my mind. Raj was an angry teenager, sometimes aggressive and violent.

He was just twenty when he left his country.

He kept in touch with me for a few years, but then we lost contact.

I stood looking intently at the arrival gate, matching the passengers’ faces to my self-perceived image of my friend.

But in vain. I couldn’t spot any.

“Ajay, my friend,” a voice from behind said.

When I turned around, I saw an enlightened Swami smiling at me.

I was astonished.

Swami Nripendra, an internationally renowned spiritual teacher, was my friend Raj.

My joy knew no bounds.

--

--

Indra Raj Pathak
The Shortform

Educationist, pragmatic, writer-poet by passion. Editor.