Urban Diary

The Heath gets its own KFC (but first, you’ll need to cook it)

Mario López-Goicoechea
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readSep 1, 2022

--

Yummy-looking, but proceed with caution (photo by author)

“They look like flowers.”

“I think it’s a chicken mushroom or something similar. A chicken fungus. Wait, I’ll find out.”

“Do you think it’s edible?”

A few minutes pass whilst my partner checks on her phone.

“I knew it. It’s a chicken of the woods.”

“Interesting. Maybe the denizens of Hampstead Heath are trying to tell us something about chicken shops,” I quip.

“Edible. But as long as it doesn’t grow on a yew tree. The tree is poisonous and the fungus absorbs its toxins.

“Fancy a ‘chicken stew’ tonight?”

“Nah. We still have leftovers from last night.”

Cuban, Immigrant, and Londoner, on sale now.

You can buy me a coffee here.

--

--