We Need Light In The Tunnel, Not At The End Of It

Sowmini
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readJan 20, 2024
Photo by Clay Banks in Unsplash

I always look forward to January. I believe January sets the stage and mood for the rest of the year. It fills the heart with dreams, waiting to be conquered. It gives one a fresh lease of hope and vigor.

But 2024 thus far, has been unkind to me. It has been the most challenging year in my four decades of existence. I am bruised and broken. Yet, I am trying to stand up and walk the winding lanes ahead.

Often, life leaves us with no choice but to fight. Victory is not the target here. Survival is the goal. Braving all odds and not letting the body and mind perish is the only way out. I am trying. Hoping against hope that the pieces of the puzzle will fall in place.

Someday, a lovely beam will fill my life’s labyrinth with light. Until then…

--

--

Sowmini
The Shortform

An aspiring writer and stand up comedian. I write to break free from the monotony of life. I find solace in words.