Day Nine of the 10-Day Shortform Challenge

What Does the Future Hold for 2035?

Nancy Blackman
The Shortform
1 min readNov 13, 2021

--

inside of building with greenery on both sides, pool in the middle, skylight ceiling. What Does the Future Hold for 2035? by Nancy Blackman. future. short story. green cities
Image by Sherra Triarosdiana from Pixabay

Years ago, inventors talked about the idea of speaking to someone and seeing their face. I marveled. Now we have FaceTime, Zoom, and Skype. Robots already exist and so does AI. What’s next?

I think we will become a cashless society of cryptocurrency. I also think we’ll have driverless cars, but that scares me.

I wonder about basic income strategies, and how that might become reality. The pros and cons are still being weighed. My fears revolve around the control of government.

On a brighter note, I would love to see cities become greener. I’ve lived in an inner-city. I treasured the tree outside my window because it was the closest thing to nature unless I drove out of the city.

What do you think the future holds? Leave a comment.

© Nancy Blackman

--

--

Nancy Blackman
The Shortform

8X Top Writer. Editor. Writing Coach. Owner of Refresh the Soul publication. Editor: The Shortform. Published in: “Mixed Korean: Our Stories" — Kindle.