When Your Kid Says You Remind Her of Winnie the Pooh…

--

When your kids says you remind her of winnie the pooh
Photo by Mark Basarab on Unsplash

“Look, McKinley. That’s me as a bear: I’m a predator. A beast. Yet there I sit, in a hole I dug, dazed and confused.”

She smiled. “That’s not you, Mom.”

“This is you,” she said, referring to her phone.

When your kids says you remind her of winnie the pooh
Photo by Taha on Unsplash

I gasped. “Is that supposed to be a compliment?”

She giggled. “Sure. You’re kind, funny, and you have your own special kind of wisdom, like Pooh.”

“Like what?”

“Like when you’re lost. Pooh says, ‘I’m not lost for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.’”

“Or when you’re late: ‘Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there someday.’”

I smiled at my daughter’s quick wit.

“Thank you, I think.”

“Sometimes the smallest things take up the most room in your heart.”
A.A. Milne

--

--

Emily🌻Mingledorff aka Mamadorff Writes
The Shortform

Christian freelancer, educator, traveler, mental health advocate, & blogger! Let's talk military-spouse-life, mom-life, &ministry. https://outsideofperfect.com/