Where Is Your Favourite Place?

Mine is Arley Gardens.

Sue Moseley
The Shortform

--

Herbaceous borders
Credit: Sue Moseley. Herbaceous borders

As a child, I read The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett and fell head over heels in love with the idea of having a walled garden, which I could convert into a little piece of paradise, hidden away from the rest of the world.

I haven’t managed to fulfill my dream yet, but I live close to a walled garden and have a season ticket to go as often as I like. I have regularly visited this place for about 35 years, and I still don’t tire of it. It’s Arley Gardens in Cheshire, UK.

Here’s a little taste of its soul-restoring properties

Trimmed hedges
Credit Sue Moseley. Topiary
Herbaceous plants against a high wall
Credit: Sue Moseley. Two walled gardens
Giant blue Himalayan poppy
Credit: Sue Moseley. Giant blue Himalayan poppy
Giant red poppy
Credit: Sue Moseley. Giant red poppy
Red hot pokers
Credit: Sue Moseley. Red hot pokers

--

--