Why You Need To Read More Books

Sanchari Pait
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readApr 23, 2024
Photo by Tolu Akinyemi 🇳🇬 on Unsplash

In 2004, I read my first ever book- Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens.

I didn’t particularly enjoy it. But I kept reading more books because I somehow believed reading makes you look cool. Exactly how we get into smoking and drinking. Fortunately, book reading wasn’t a harmful habit, so I was under no pressure to stop!

Since then, I’ve read hundreds of books. They taught me about new cultures, helping me connect with global colleagues. I learnt new words that helped me tackle Verbal Ability during competitive exams. I’ve also found books that help me write better!

In the Book smart vs Street Smart debate, I’m a proponent of the latter- But equally amazed at how books help me be a lot more street smart.

Today’s World Book Day. Gift yourself a book and let this be the start to a new habit your future self will thank you for!

--

--

Sanchari Pait
The Shortform

Writes about actionable self-improvement, travel, art & books