Writing contests are also about statistics

So far, only 9 entries competing for $3,000

Hora
The Shortform
Apr 14, 2022

--

photo created by Hora

Elegant Literature is organizing a contest and has implemented this great functionality, which I have to admit, I would like to see more often.

I plan to participate, and this feels like a good trigger.

They have a tracker on their contest page that shows the number of submissions they have received.

As of April 12th, they have received only 9 submissions, and the deadline is April 30th.

If we do the math, that’s less than 1 submission per day.

Statistically speaking, I think the odds are looking good for this contest.
At this rate, there might be around 50 submissions in total by the end of April.

Literary speaking, the odds might look good if you come up with a short story on mirrors and reflections + the word “apple”.

photo by Hora

--

--

Hora
The Shortform

Surviving hell (long covid & co) made me think deeply about my life. I feel motivated to document my healing journey and share what I have learnt.