You Can’t Put Me In A Box

I’m not box material.

Marcela Cardoso
The Shortform
1 min readJan 9, 2024

--

Photo by Erda Estremera on Unsplash

Why do you think you know me better than I know myself?

Who gave you the power to declare what you think I am or how I should act?

Let me be straightforward: you can’t put me in a box.

I wasn’t born to be one thing or do what everybody expects me to. I change with the seasons, which means I’m not the same person I was two seconds ago.

Sometimes, I agree with you, then change my mind after giving the question some thought.

Sometimes, I get too attached to someone and lose interest within seconds.

It’s just who I am. I won’t sacrifice my true self just to keep you satisfied.

It’s up to me to appreciate the amazing person I am or deal with my flaws.

You don’t have to fix me because I’m not broken.

--

--

Marcela Cardoso
The Shortform

✨I write personal stories and articles that bring positivity and growth to your life.✨