You Left, But I Have Questions

CL Huth
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readJan 23, 2022

--

The 10-Day Shortform Challenge: Day 7

Two words: Birth Mother

She left me when she divorced my dad. I was only 4.

Six years later, when I was 10, she’d show up again out of the blue and ask to see me, but I was angry and bitter. The visit did not go well, and she disappeared again.

A few years ago, my father included a white letter envelope with our Christmas gifts. Inside were pictures of her. Some with me. Some with my dad. And I was overwhelmed by emotion by the questions the photos brought to light, as they were contrary to the story my family had given about her.

So I would like a dinner with her. I’m past the anger. I just want to know her side of the story, so I can piece together mine.

--

--

CL Huth
The Shortform

Award-winning author of the Zoe Delante Thriller series (www.readzoe.com), mother, nerd, and the biggest cheerleader you’ll ever have on your side. #paranormal