MIND & BODY THERAPY

You Need to Know About Practical Ways to Help Yourself

--

“I like gardening — it’s a place where I find myself when I need to lose myself.”

Alice Sebold.

I’ve heard this one many times over in my past career in psychiatry from patients, particularly after discharge at their regular out-patient follow-up appointments once living back in the community.

‘That they rediscover and ground themselves out there, when they need to relax and get away from daily stress.’

People are realizing the vast potential that gardening can offer our mental & physical selves today, you needn’t do specific recommended therapy programs either. Simply spending time out there in sunshine is enough to improve your mood.

Share of the public that say gardening helps them to relax in the United Kingdom (UK) as of December 2020, by age. Courtesy of Statista 2024.

The age group with the most respondents that stated gardening helped them to relax was 55 and older, with 46.91 %.

So, I want to ask you, do you enjoy getting out there, making the most of the health benefits it offers you?

--

--

Jonathan Townend, RMN - Editor - Friend of Medium
The Shortform

Psychiatric Nurse Writer. Owner of Creative Passions, The Shortform, No Shame, World of Fiction publications, and co-editor for The Chocolate River.