FICTION: CINDERELLA’S CLOSET

You’re Never Out of Options

You discover you can fly

Louise Foerster
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readJun 13, 2024

--

Photo by BĀBI on Unsplash

“There’s nothing else?” Renata mewled, eying the reject pile of dresses.

“We always have options.” Alice closed the dressing room curtain. “I’ll be right back.”

Renata’s smile wavered when Alice returned with the first dress she’d tried on.

“That one hangs like it’s dead.” Renata eyed the salesperson.

“Try it with this belt.”

Renata pulled the dress over her head, cinched the belt and gazed in the mirror.

“I look like I’m channeling 1955.” She grinned.

“Or someone confident in herself. You have beautiful curves.”

“Twenty-three extra pounds,” Renata groaned.

“That’s one way of looking at yourself. Do you like how you look in this dress?”

“Yeah, I like the fifties vibe. I’ll put my hair up….” Renata gathered her hair in now-steady hands.

At the register, Renata took the shopping bag. “I hate being the only single one.”

“There are other ways to see it.” Alice smiled.

--

--

Louise Foerster
The Shortform

Writes "A snapshot in time we can all relate to - with a twist." Novelist, marketer, business story teller, new product imaginer…