How to Be a Good Writer (According to Zadie Smith)

Practical, no-nonsense, and achievable tips

Mario López-Goicoechea
The Shortform

--

Jumping for joy. Joy at finding the right word or sentence Photo by Austin Schmid on Unsplash

Inspiration for a writer is key to developing new ideas. Also key is keeping our perspiration to a minimum. Joking aside, when I write I seek spiritual and mental stimulation from a variety of sources such as: fiction and nonfiction, the natural world, and interactions with other people.

One of the writers whom I’ve long admired is the British author, Zadie Smith. Many years ago Zadie penned a two-part essay in The Guardian entitled, “What Makes a Good Writer?” I sought permission from the newspaper to publish the article online and as soon as this was granted I asked my cartoonist friend and fellow Cuban Garrincha to provide images to go with the write-up.

The result of this collaboration appears below. I hope you enjoy it.

--

--