Does Matched Betting Work as a Side Hustle?

Yes, but there’s a catch

Rory Spanton
The Side Hustle Club

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

In the internet age, there’s a side hustle for everyone. The possibilities for making money outside of traditional employment are greater than ever. It’s easy! Or so clickbait articles will promise you.

In reality, it can be hard to find a side hustle that is profitable, accessible, and aligns with your values. I’d rather not shill a bunch of products I don’t believe in for affiliate commission, for instance.

Yet when I heard about matched betting, I was curious. The thought of making risk-free money at the expense of greedy gambling companies seemed too good to be true. So I tried it.

Quickly, and almost to my own surprise, I made money.

But even so, I decided to stop matched betting after a short while. To understand why, I’ll first explain in more detail what matched betting is, and then how I did it.

What Is Matched Betting?

Matched betting is quite simple. Gambling companies let you place bets in favor of certain outcomes in sporting events. For example, I could bet that my favorite football team is going to win a game.

If they won, I’d win back my stake (the amount of money I bet) multiplied by the odds that my team was going to…

--

--

Rory Spanton
The Side Hustle Club

Behavioural Data Scientist @ Good With. Writing about data science, psychology, programming, and more. www.roryspanton.com