How to Turn Your Freelance Writing Career into Money-Making Machine?

Misha Naraniya
The Side Hustle Club
4 min readMay 17, 2023

Because Freelance Writing is a Power Switch in a Dark Room

Photo by Sam Lion

When I started Freelance Writing in 2020, then I didn’t know the “ABCDs” of it. I just made my account on LinkedIn and started my writing journey. But before joining LinkedIn, I used to write short stories on some other platform.

People started to love my writing skills on that platform and appreciate my stories. Today still, my stories doing well on that platform, and everyday100+ readers read my stories.

Okay, so this was about another platform which I’ll talk about later. Today, I’m gonna share about my freelance writing journey.

When I started writing posts on LinkedIn I didn’t get any leads at that time because I was just posting content randomly. No Niche, no quality content, no hooks, no thinking about the target audience, etc., etc.

Then I thought, I’m doing something wrong. Then I read someone’s post about how to post niche-specific content. Sooner, I started to engage with others through posts, comments, and DMs.

And Guess what? I got my first freelancing project! It wasn’t a high-paying project but I got to learn new things like SEO and Keyword research.

Freelance writing can be easy if you continuously put your efforts into it but if you do procrastination then it isn't easy.

You must be aware of things that are essential in freelance writing. You can make a decent amount or can I say it can be your money-making machine if you choose the right path.

So what is the right path? Let’s turn on the lights in the darkroom! shall we? I’m gonna share 7 skills that will clear your freelancing path:

The Unique Charm of Headline Writing

Your headline is the core point of your content. What if you didn’t take care of it? Your content will be gone in the trash. Now, it’s time to deep dive into the ocean and get some unique and catchy headlines so your readers will stick to it.

They are the hooks that create a spark in the reader. So let your reader enjoy your content by using some mystery in the headline.

Fascinating SEO — the lifeline of an article.

Scared of SEO? Yes, I was too. But learn it, learn the basics of SEO then you can do amazing with your writing so it’ll into the limelight. Your content will play the win-win game in search engines and you become a ninja.

The Spellbinding Quality Writing

Quality writing means “cherry on the cake”. Writing wants only practice, so practice! practice! practice! When you start writing non-stop for 15–20 mintues, then the real game begins. Your quality writing stands out from the crowd and your writing speed increases.

The Secret of Reading a Reader’s Mind

What kind of a writer is who cannot read his/her reader’s mind? The best writing is heart-to-heart conversation. So put yourself into the shoes of a reader, what do they like or dislike?

Spend your time in the world of audience such as Quora, forums, reviews, etc. Then you can become an expert.

Become a Niche Expertise

There is no doubt that you’re a good writer. But immerse yourself in a Niche in which you love to write. Play with the Niche, spend time in research and then it will become a piece of cake for you.

Amazing Power of Storytelling

I am a reader and I love those articles that have a put of storytelling. That’s why I also have put my shoes into storytelling. Why? because the audience connects with it. The audience loves to read a narrative that is beautifully crafted. So create such content which has the magic of beginning, middle, and ending.

Become a Skilled Negotiating Champ

Sounds bizarre for a newbie freelance writer! I wasn’t aware of what is negotiation. But you know, before entering into a profession, we’re completely unaware of the phrases used in the profession. So after jumping into freelance writing, you must communicate clearly about your boundaries, and what you want to accomplish so that you can offer an ideal outcome to the bargaining table.

So these are some amazing tools that a freelance writer must have in his/her toolbox. Use them wisely, and you never know when, how, and where your writing career will become a money-making machine.

You can check out my Blog here.

You can check out my Pinterest Board here.

Check out my LinkedIn and Instagram profile here.

Join my substack newsletter and enjoy reading my travel stories every Saturday.

Did you like my work then support me by buying me a Coffee! 🤩🤩

--

--

Misha Naraniya
The Side Hustle Club

Blogger! Freelance Content Writer! Co-author! Writing is my Passion! Coffee Lover! Join my newsletter here: https://mishanwrites.substack.com/