I Have Made $4.29 on Medium After One Year

Tonicmud
The Side Hustle Club
3 min readSep 16, 2021

I started writing for Medium in September of 2020 with an average of two articles every month so about every other week I have an article written.

Even though I am super proud of my $4.29, I know it's not anywhere near as impressive as some other writers. Some Medium writers claim to make thousands of dollars a month, enough to make a livable income and I have finally made enough to buy me one cup of coffee here in LA.

Maybe you are wondering what exactly I have been doing with my article, with my Medium account. A majority of my articles are based around finance, buying property, savings account, retirement. I write about what is happening around me. For example, my last article before this one was when my neighbor told me he is finally retiring. Now I am about 40 years away from retiring but I was still interested in learning how he felt about retiring, how much social security was going to give him and how he would live. Maybe he will go to Hawaii for the rest of his life or go and garden but no he won't be earning enough money so he still has to work part-time.

If my neighbor did not retire I would not have written my article. I wrote it because it actually happened. My last example will be my article on the best business credit cards to use. I was searching for my own business because I will be opening my own LLC by the end of the year so because it happened to me at the time I wrote a medium article about it. I don’t do random research about a topic to write about, I don’t force out an article or read five other articles to write mine.

Now I am not the best writer, I have no formal training, I don’t make money on any other platform I just write when something interesting happens around me in the financial world. Maybe I should expand my writing field but so far that’s all I know. I am not huge on politics or meditation or which herbs will make my mind open its third eye, I am just not interested in those topics.

Perhaps I should be writing more articles. If I dish out three articles per week maybe I would be making more than my $4.29 in a year. I have about 10 followers, following my Medium profile and if no publication wants to publish my article that means only 10 people will see my article. With these numbers in mind that would probably mean that I get 0.04 cents for my article. If a publication decides to publish me then there is an average payout of about 0.60 cents per article. With this being said I make more when a publisher wants my article, but I get half of my articles rejected so it's more of a how lucky will I be today?

I will continue writing articles because it gives me perspective on what I am doing, it helps me lay out my plans or reasonings while maybe also helping someone else who has questions about buying a house or investing. I won't be able to qualify this as a good side hustle especially when it sometimes takes two hours to just write one article when writing it and editing, finding good pictures, rereading to see if it makes sense, getting rejected by two publications submitting to the third one and maybe finally the article can go live for public reading.

If you decided to start writing for Medium just know it can take a lot of time. You might be able to crack the code much faster than me but at the moment I wish you luck. The only advice I can give you is just to try and be friendly with publications that meet their requirements maybe see what style they want and just learn along the way.

--

--