I Made $300 From My Audiobooks and E-books

8 lessons I learned after generating royalties

Stephanie A. James
The Side Hustle Club

--

Photo by Tamara Bellis on Unsplash

Grabbing the reader with an engaging author page as part of your marketing strategy is one lesson I learned after publishing e-books and audiobooks. I will talk more about marketing and other lessons later but first I will give you a little background on how I started publishing e-books through Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP), which is Amazon’s publishing platform that directly allows authors to upload their manuscripts and go live for sale.

Also, I will talk about how I eventually turned my publications into audiobooks that will be featured on Audible and iTunes.

My journey into publishing began a few years ago with a 10 minute and 23 second Youtube video. In this video, one of my favorite life coaches talked about how she published a book on Amazon. The book, which was self-published, did not cost her anything to publish. She stated in her video that she published the book and only spent $2 for a proof before her manuscript is ready for purchase.

After viewing the video, out of curiosity I started to research how to publish e-books. I came across a blog post that was a step-by-step guide to publishing through KDP. Within a week, I published an e-book through KDP.com and a side hustle was born.

--

--

Stephanie A. James
The Side Hustle Club

https://www.stephaniealicia.com An avid reader, author, and spinach lover! Her work has been featured in Consumer’s Research and websites such as ehow.