One Month’s Earnings On Alamy

My stock photography world

Susie Kearley
The Side Hustle Club

--

Author’s screengrab of the Alamy website © Susie Kearley Photographer

I’m a keen photographer and I sell photographs on Alamy, a stock photography website, which supplies images to newspapers, magazines, and to anyone else who wants to purchase them.

Most of my images are used for editorial pieces, but some are used commercially, in calendars, or for personal use (for example, some people make cards for their friends).

Alamy sells licences for the photos to be used, so I can sell them again over and over again, while holding on to the copyright. At the moment, I have about 8,000 images on the website.

In November, Alamy made $98 worth of sales from my photos. This comes from six sales, which include landscapes, museums, a caravan park (above) and some seafront gardens. In accordance with Alamy’s new terms, I only get 40% of the value of sales, but it all adds up.

So far they’ve sold over $7,000 USD worth of my images. Until recently, I got half the money. Not too bad.

The highest value sale this month was $43.69 for an editorial piece on a website. The lowest value was $3 for the same usage, presumably as part of a package deal.

My highest value sale ever was $250 and the lowest was 50c (they’re both unusual).

--

--

Susie Kearley
The Side Hustle Club

Freelance writer UK. Outrageous opinions. Occasionally offends by accident. Covers writing, health, psychology, memoir, current affairs, copyright, environment.