Please Stop Writing Articles for $5 — It’s Not Worth It

A message to new freelance writers.

Abhi Thakur
The Side Hustle Club
3 min readMar 7, 2022

--

Photo by Joël Super on Pexels

Yesterday, I submitted my sample work to a client hoping she would like it and award me the project.

Half of it came to be true.

The client liked my sample, but I didn’t get the project.

Yes! Because I declined the offer. And the reason was obvious.

She wanted to offer me the long-term project at a price of $5 per 1000 words.

Oh boy! How am I supposed to write a 1000 words article for $5?

The niche was based on kitchen thermometers —about which I have no idea. Proper research took me 4 hours to write a 1000 words sample. Had I accepted the project, I would have been paid $5 for 4 hrs, which means, $1.25 per hour. That’s even less than the minimum wage you get in your job.

I told her $5 was too low and politely declined her offer.

My Message to New Freelance Writers

I am a new freelance writer, who has just started working with clients. But having bid for more than one month and interacting with different clients, I have felt that some clients expect writers to write for $5.

They have this perception in mind. “Oh! He’s a newbie. He can’t reject this offer.”

Picture this, can you work long term for a project where you are getting paid less than your job? No, you can’t. Then what’s the point of working as a freelancer.

You have a skill that you shouldn’t sell for pennies. And you don’t need to be desperate to get a project and ignore the pay. There are many clients who will happily pay you what you deserve (provided your skills are strong).

I am already working for a client who is paying me $11 for 1000 words and there was no need for me to work for $5. I know if not her, I will find other clients who will pay me well.

How should you decide your freelance rate?

Let me be honest. I still don’t understand how hourly rates are calculated. I am comfortable working on a fixed price.

If you ask me how to set a rate for your words as a beginner, I would say keep it around $0.02 to $0.03 per word. The least you can accept is $0.01, but not below that.

Say you start at a rate of $0.01 per word and write 2000 words every day for a month. You will make $600 a month from a single client. And if you find multiple clients, you can expect more.

See, even at the minimum price, you are making decent money.

That’s what you should plan. Always think if I accept this low-paying job, can I work for a long-time at this rate? If not, don’t hesitate to decline the offer. You have skills to count on. You will find another client.

As a beginner, getting a start is a positive thing, but it doesn’t mean you should go below your rate. That’s not worth your time and hard work.

Join my email list here: https://abhithakur.ck.page/67f8aa0e98

Read more stories like this by subscribing to The Side Hustle Club’s newsletter.

--

--