The Side Hustle

A Part-Time Lifestyle Business

Chelsey Roney
The Side Hustle
3 min readSep 4, 2016

--

Welcome to The Side Hustle! I’m Chelsey Roney. If you know me, you know that I ALWAYS have a new [business] idea and I’m consistently working on launching one or more of them. Shout out to my friends and family for always listening to my crazy ramblings…you have to have a lot of dumb ideas to get just one of them to work! As much as I like my ideas, I’m risk averse and seek the security of full time work. Thusly, my life feels like one big hustle and I call my part-time business development ideas my Side Hustles.

I spend an abnormal amount of time reading about a lot of companies that either are or intend to be started using angel or venture capitalist money. However, for reasons to be elaborated on later, I don’t think this method works for most people. Realistically, I think most people don’t have the ability/desire to live without a regular paycheck. This is where a part-time business comes in. This blog will be a real account of what it’s like to actually execute a part-time lifestyle business.

Why do I love the Side Hustle? It gives me a creative outlet. My degree and most of my professional life have been spent doing analytical work (which I do enjoy, most of the time). It gives me the chance to develop something that could become “big”. I could be onto the next big thing, but I can start it without putting all of my eggs in one basket. It is rewarding to cash that check! Seeing all of your hard work directly payout is addicting.

A little about me…I am a Technical Recruiter at Microsoft and I LOVE it. #BestJobEver. Prior to being a Recruiter, I was a Financial Analyst at Boeing. #IfItsNotBoeingI’mNotGoing. I live in the Seattle area and I have been with my ultra-supportive husband/partner for ten(!) years! We’ve got the cutest husky ever (she’ll make an appearance one day) and a cat. They’re the best of friends. We are both from the great state of Texas and we went to Texas A&M University. Gig ‘em!

Why do I have any authority to speak on The Side Hustle life? I’ve been building businesses on the side since I was ~10 years old. My first business was teaching swimming lessons from my parents’ pool. I actually had business cards and got to the point of having every Saturday and Sunday full due to referrals. In between then and now, I’ve sold flower bouquets, class notes, temporary metallic tattoos (remember those?) and have had countless other ideas that I’ve vetted but never took off. I’ve got two current Side Hustles.

Select-A-Sis: We allow sorority chapters to vote on potential new members during recruitment on any internet connected device. (Yes, I was in a sorority and it was the best experience for a lot of reasons.#GoGammaPhi)

Wallflower Boutique: We sell and rent silk flower photo backdrops. They are gorgeous and perfect for making any photo worthy event even more special.

What will this blog be about? Why should I read it? This blog is going to be about how I perceive The Side Hustle life and the steps of starting something part-time. I hope it will be helpful in your quest for finding financial independence through a side business. The blog will showcase what your life might logistically be like with something new taking up your time.

For your first glimpse into what it’s actually like to run a Side Hustle, this is me a few minutes ago working at a lake house while on “vacation”. Luckily, I’m surrounded by some lovely ladies who also live that Side Hustle life. *Thank you to Starbucks and my Surface Pro 4 for making this possible.

Talk soon. XO,

Chelsey

--

--