Compassion of the Brush and Heart

Jan Gardner

Remy Dean
Signifier : Six : Shot : Gallery
5 min readAug 1, 2021

--

Jan Gardner on ‘Compassion of the Brush and Heart’

I suppose everyone was in a similar position in March 2020, planning and researching work, getting about their daily tasks, routines, work, domestic, family, etc. I was preparing work for a show opening in May, which because of ‘lockdown’ was re-scheduled for end of August.

I found myself continuing with work at the announcement of that first lockdown. What follows is a summery of the six works I selected from the period March 2020 to May 2021.

Marvels and Mysteries (120cm x 100cm, acrylic on canvas) became an enchantment, whilst I was restricted from going out, seeking my vistas of contentment, this piece grew on the canvas, a combination of immeasurable vistas and rich entangled flora, distance and detail, an area I enjoy contrasting. Maybe an attempt to be away from all the distracting, distressing mayhem that was unfolding.

A Zillion Dreams (100cm x 70cm, acrylic on canvas) the sequel in this series I was preparing for the May show really intensified, having done preparatory sketches from the Ogwen Valley. It began with my usual series of expressive washes, in colour layers, it was as if I needed to really lose myself in the scene, the colour harmonies and colour choices really…

--

--

Remy Dean
Signifier : Six : Shot : Gallery

Author, Artist, Lecturer in Creative Arts & Media. ‘This, That, and The Other’ fantasy novels published by The Red Sparrow Press. https://linktr.ee/remydean