Pembrokeshire’s Secret Shell Surprise

Exploring Cilwendeg’s Shell House Hermitage

--

The Cilwendeg Shell House Hermitage, near Boncath, Pembrokeshire © Simon Whaley

I expect a brown tourist sign. There isn’t one. Which probably explains why I miss the entrance.

The Cilwendeg Estate lies about a mile from the centre of the small Welsh village of Boncath, eight miles from Cardigan. I only realise I’ve missed the turning when I whizz past a familiar-looking lodge house. I’m not one for SatNavs. (I hate being told where to go 😁.) Instead, I use Google Streetmaps to visualise my journeys as best I can beforehand.

After a quick turnaround, I enter the estate and immediately spot a painted blue sign. The Shell House it declares. Phew! I am where I’m supposed to be. Passing the lodge (a private residence), the stone track cuts through open fields. Despite the sign, this still feels like I’m intruding. In some ways, I am. The Cilwendeg Estate is private, except for the permitted access to the Shell Hermitage, and a few public footpaths criss-crossing the grounds.

Sign at the Cilwendeg Shell House Hermitage © Simon Whaley

The crunch of stones under slow-rotating tyres echoes around as I enter a wooded area. How much further? Moments later, I stumble across the parking area on the right. It’s a…

--

--

Simon Whaley - Author | Writer | Photographer
The Slow Journeyman

Bestselling author, writer and photographer. UK travel writer. Lives in the glorious Welsh Borders. Contact: https://www.simonwhaley.co.uk/contact-me/