SELF-IMPROVEMENT

I Re-Read All 236 of My Medium Articles

And I realized that in fact, I’m not a hamster

Maria Garcia
The Slow Life
Published in
9 min readApr 17, 2024

--

Photo by Hümâ H. Yardım on Unsplash

It’s an utter waste of time to go through life without reflecting on where you are, where you’ve been, and where you want to go.

I was speaking to my dear friend and co-founder of The Slow Life here on Medium, Scott-Ryan Abt about how the algorithm can often make us feel like we are hamsters keeping the wheel turning, but no one is actually watching.

It’s like our churning of the wheel just serves to keep the electricity on or something. Either way, it’s a tiresome activity that doesn’t bring anything but exhaustion.

It occurred to me that more than ever, the world is straddling between keeping up with an impossible rhythm and being pushed to finally let go, or jump off the illusive hamster wheel.

The hamster revolution, if you will, is looming in the distance.

Will you jump, or will you spin?

I for one have decided to jump, while occasionally giving the wheel some momentum with my arm, like pushing a semi-independent child on a swing.

I try not to exhaust myself, but I’m still somewhat participating in it all, otherwise, you wouldn’t be reading about this strange…

--

--