Book Review: The Lightbringer Series by Brent Weeks

Epic fantasy done masterfully

Zachary Phillips
The Slush Pile
Published in
4 min readJul 11, 2020

--

TLDR: This is the second series from Brent Weeks, and my God is it amazing. Well thought-out magic system, amazingly deep characters, epic in scope and an awesome finish.

If you are into epic fantasy, this is a must read!

8.5/10

Check out The Lightbringer series by Brent Weeks

Review

1. Prose & Style

Coming into this series, I was already a fan of Weeks’ style, but he blew me away with his mastery of language.

His ability to set a scene, mood and action were superb. At no time was I left feeling bored or felt like the action/introspection was dragging. He uses beats extremely well to break it up and keep it engaging.

The pacing/switching between points of view kept me engaged with all the characters. I found that I was always able to keep track of their movements, and felt like we visited each one often enough.

In both this series and his first, Weeks describes extreme violence, yet in the Night Angel Trilogy he avoided descriptions of sex, only alluding to the act and cutting away.

--

--

Zachary Phillips
The Slush Pile

Intuitive Guide. Poet. Shadow Hunter. Coach. I help entrepreneurs navigate dark nights of the soul & find peace.