“Do They Tip You?”

Jess Mason
The Small Things
Published in
3 min readDec 1, 2020
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

“Let me ask you… do they tip you?”

He was sitting at our outside seating, alone, smoking a cigarette.

“Sometimes, but I haven’t personally accepted a tip.”

He went on to state how rude that was of people, how lazy too, that they couldn’t even get out of their cars to get their $5 Starbucks latte.

“I try not to judge”, I said. “I don’t have the energy for that.”

As if he didn’t hear me, he continued, “My drink is $3.50, I always give you guys a five so the change is your tip.”

“And we appreciate that”, I said with a smile as I walked back into the store.

The Starbucks where I work has recently been a testing ground for a new type of service, curbside delivery. It’s exactly what it sounds like, and while there was a bit of grumbling when we first started, I’ve been pretty indifferent to it. Pre-pandemic, curbside service was more of a rare offering from retailers. But now, it’s more rare not to see curbside offered.

When it was announced that my store would be participating in a test of this new service, I was sure we were going to be constant­ly overwhelmed with customers taking advantage of curbside. But, so far, it’s been pretty manageable from my perspective. Sure, it can be annoying to stop what I’m doing, gather someone’s order, and trek outside. But, well, it’s my job.

Most of the dissenters center their argument around one pillar: it’s okay for people who are disabled (visibly) or for people who have kids in the cars or the elderly.

But it’s not okay (in fact it’s downright lazy and entitled) for a young girl in her Mercedes to use curbside.

I ran into a regular in a local store once and he said, “It’s shameful to have a young girl like you running out to bring these people their order. Even I get out of my car to come inside!” (He’s an older gentleman - this comment was surely meant to illustrate how he would never, ever, consider being this lazy…. even at his age.)

Here’s my issue with all of this… who am I to say who’s worthy or not of taking advantage of a service Starbucks is offering? Moreover, as someone who struggles with depression, anxiety, and adrenal fatigue (all invisible ailments) I have empathy for strangers, because I have no idea what they may be struggling with.

Maybe they spend all day on their feet caring for a sick grandparent and their only daily break or rest is for a Starbucks run.

I would gladly walk outside to hand that person a drink.

Maybe they just had the worst day and can’t bring themselves to get out of the car — I would gladly walk outside to hand that person their drink.

But maybe they’re none of those things. Maybe they’re a 16 year old who is perfect­ly capable of going inside, but is too lazy, or would rather sit in their car and play on their phone while they wait for someone to bring them their $6 frappucino.

Maybe they’re every entitled, privileged, cliche in the book.

I would still gladly walk outside to hand that person their drink.

And the simple reason is that I don’t feel I’m in a position to judge anyone. And I certainly am not going to waste any of my energy on it.

Honestly, I find it more exhausting to have to defend myself (as I simply do my job, no less) against people who think they know what’s best or feel that they need to offer their unsolicited opinions.

If you can’t be nice… stay in your car. I’ll be glad to bring you your drink… even if you don’t tip me.

--

--

Jess Mason
The Small Things

Artist, writer, teacher. My goal is for my work to promote positive transformations in others.