Hump Day High Five #1

5 Songs to add alone or en masse to your weekly playlists

Mycroft Mac
The Society Pages
Published in
3 min readSep 2, 2021

--

Photo by Namroud Gorguis on Unsplash

As the storms creep up the East Coast, I figured I’d take a crack at throwing together an upbeat playlist to combat the honks of the Emergency Weather Service on my television and radio. Most of these are my “sunny” go-to independent artist additions to playlists, but some of them have a nice rock edge to them so don’t let the upbeat moniker fool ya’. In no certain order, I offer the following tracks for your consideration:

I Tell All My Friends About You (lullaboy, Max Harris remix)

Berklee School of Music collab of lullaboy and Max Harris (now H4rris) is amazing. The transition from heartfelt track to the beat-laden earwig I present to you here has all of the signposts of a great surprise jam for any car trip or hangout. The skittering loops of the beginning get me every time.

I Tell All My Friends About You (Audio Track)

All Day (Ellrod)

This is another fun one. A light, vibrant track detailing a sweaty, 24 hour, dalliance. Lyrically it’s not hiding anything, but the musical production allows this to be played at social gatherings without having to earmuff the kiddos. The cohesive use of beats, acoustic guitar, and the flair of Ellrod’s vocal delivery make this a great drop anywhere in your playlist.

Ellrod, All Day (Audio Track)

Dancing with a Stranger, Sam Smith Cover (Bluprint)

You know the Sam Smith song. It’s great. You may not know the Chicago-based band Bluprint. This pop-punk reshaping maintains the integrity of the original version but gives it some teeth to make you pound your steering wheel to the beat in a way the original never did. Once you pick up your jaw, research the rest of the Bluprint portfolio, you’ll thank me later.

Bluprint, (Pop Goes Punk) Dancing With a Stranger (Official Video)

Miss Connection (The Keystones)

The Keystones have gone through two lead singers in about as many years, but Jack Sherman will always be my favorite. The Waukesha, Wisconsin quad is at its rock precipice here. It’s a great kick-off track for a playlist or a solid mid-list pick-up. And if all that isn’t enough, it’s just a damn fun song.

The Keystones, Miss Connection (Official Video)

Shoulders (The Habits)

An anthem for those living with the internet. What’s real? What’s fake? How does this affect your worldview and the view of yourself? How much happier would you be with the weight of others’ expectations off your shoulders? San Pedro California’s The Habits can tell ya’ — “I’ve run out of any f**ks to give, I only have one life to live.” Delivery is everything here. It’s a hard rock track with vocal sensitivity. It‘s multifunctional in a good playlist and guaranteed to make the crowd bob their head whether they want to or not.

The Habits, Shoulders (Official Video)

I’d love to see how you fit any or all of these into a playlist with your personal favorites. Message me your links if/when you make them and I’ll definitely give it a listen.

--

--

Mycroft Mac
The Society Pages

40-something guy adrift in the world. MA English Lit, MS Instructional Design Technology. Philospher, Nerd, Sarcast. I game and podcast under “BombsInContext”.