AVERAGE.

Shikha Sagar
The SocioCommentator
2 min readJul 11, 2020

--

Source — Pexels

AVERAGE. The new standard of “failure.” Take it from the one who never really won any competition, never got a rank in school, even in primary classes.

Here I’m — an “average” student.

Not going to lie, I “never” scored percentage in 80s. 90s is still beyond my imagination! Apart from academics, as a growing child, neither I had an interest in any activities except music, and a few games nor my parents ever appreciated any extra-circular activities. They had a belief that every extra-circular activity would drive me away from studies more and more, which clearly wasn’t helpful either way. I have been a shy kid since ever. My teachers always used to have a complaint in my oral exams. But who cares now! Let’s get to the point.

In an era where everyone wants “to be extraordinary,” it’s difficult to remain an average grade person. It’s a rat race on a 24/7 basis. But is that fuss really required? None can be the “best” person on this planet as we all lack in one or the other thing. Getting an average grade feels worse than getting even low grades. I was a lucky kid, as my parents never demanded high scores. They only wanted me to get passed. Okay, “at least” get passed! But if we see the reality of life, there’s always someone better than us, no matter we excel in a particular thing, but there would be one who’s better in rather a different thing too along with the one we are good at.

Being average is okay! A lot of people are afraid of accepting mediocracy because of the myth that acknowledging the fact would prohibit them from becoming an “extraordinary” personality, which is the demand in society now. And then their life would be meaningless and without any purpose.

One who becomes extraordinary isn’t the one worried about how to become one. S/he is only obsessed with improvement. Acceptance of your being average doesn’t mean “I’m fine with what I am, and I’m happy living with the same.” No, please! It’s about “I know where I stand, and I’m ready with all my determination to IMPROVE.”

So chill out if you are an “average” like me. But don’t forget, “Never ignore your potential. Focus on being productive instead of playing miserable, oppressed, and victimized.”

The next article will be related to the above one. “The fear of being Judged.” Thus stay tuned.

Your Rs. 100 motivates us to write more such content and serve you our best. Support us now.

--

--