Being an Introvert in a World that Won’t Stop Talking

Sandhya_Raju
The SocioCommentator
2 min readSep 20, 2020

--

Photo by Duy Vo on Unsplash

The first time I realized that I was an introvert was when I got into a voluntary organization. I am grateful because the NGO did unwrap some of my hidden talents, although joining it was a compulsion. I hosted and were a part of many public events and ‘groups’ there. On this particularly intense socializing week, I felt left out despite having ice-breaking activities, forming groups, etc. I was neither connected with any of them, nor was I feeling mentally energized (which was the ultimate goal of the event). I instead felt the whole exercise was futile.

I realized that this is exactly the opposite of how I feel after catching up with my small set of friends or when I talk to someone I care, over a cup of coffee. This doesn’t mean that I shut or shoo people away, but it is just my template of loving and relating to new people. It is hard to explain this to people who feel genuinely energized by being around other people.

Most of us think introverts are quiet, insular, and are people who avoid social gatherings. These facts are fictitious. Being an introvert has got nothing to do with how much you like to hang out with people. They can have some of the most meaningful and deepest relationships. For instance, extroverts may enjoy a social gathering with fifty people and talk to as many of them as possible. Whereas an introvert would like to build at least a connection with two others they meet.

Sum and Substance

We are in a world where people choose confidence over knowledge, a loquacious person over a voracious person and, enthusiasm above commitment. When this is encouraged, we are alienating almost half of the world’s population into a life that does not bring their best out. Irrespective of being a ‘Social butterfly’ or a ‘Keen observer,’ simply being aware of the distinction can be enough to approach the people whose behavior seems alien to yours.

We would love to hear from you at sandhyarajarathinam@gmail.com :)

--

--