Life Can Be Messy

Azarel Fernandes
The Sound Gaarden Stories
3 min readJul 8, 2016

It all started with this post-it…stuck on a book The Life Changing Magic Of Tidying, left unattended one early Sunday morning at my work desk.

Could this be a sign?? (Technically, it quite literally was)

Was I really desperately and totally needing to clear up the clutter in my life?? (I mean isn’t everyone’s life a bit messy and in an all around disorder?)

Okay let’s be straight. I know I’m not the most organized individual out there. I know I have hoarded way too much stuff that doesn’t really add any actual value to my life. But is it really that bad?

Honestly I think I can get to it tomorrow. I have more important things to spend my time doing today. Besides, I heard that creative people are supposed to be messy or something.

Well. Despite my decision to put a lower priority on cleaning (life is all about prioritizing right?) I thought that it wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world to at least give the book a read (Worst case scenario I waste a few hours of my life…sort of like watching the Twilight Saga…never gonna get those hours back)

A few hours later. I’m not going to say that it’s the most amazing book ever. It isn’t. But the writer of the book, Marie Kondo, did touch upon a few rather crucial points when it comes to cleaning up the clutter in ones life. One of her principles that stuck out to me most was to get rid of the things that don’t give you a sense of joy. I know. It sounds really hippy and stuff but she actually has a point.

Imagine opening up your cupboard and only seeing all of your favorite clothes. Imagine going to your work-space and always finding the tools you need in their proper place. Imagine opening the fridge and…okay I’m going on a tangent. But it definitely got me working on cleaning up my house. My Car. My desk. My rooms. My shoe-rack. My cables. My shelves. Literally throwing out garbage bag after garbage bag after garbage bag of stuff.

I’m not going to bullshit you. It’s been a week and I still haven’t finished cleaning everything. But I did have an epiphany earlier in the day shortly after finishing the last chapter of the book…while sipping a fresh cup of green tea. Looking at a clean room, with pretty much nothing visually or physically obstructing my path to my work area, I suddenly had no excuses. I had no reason to not work on that project that I kept putting off. I had no reason to keep that book reading to some other year. I had no reason to strap on my shoes and go for a sprint around the neighborhood. I had no reason to not do whatever I truly wanted to do…

Maybe having a messy life was simply a distraction.

Maybe having a messy life is something that diverts us from spending time furthering our true mission.
(calling, purpose, passion…whatever kids are calling it these days)

Maybe…

…maybe you should find out for yourself.

-Az

--

--