Isn’t It Funny How Something Can Trigger Our Memories?

Byron Spires
The Southern Voice
Published in
2 min readJun 26, 2024

It can be as simple as a certain smell or a sound that will bring back thoughts of the past.

The smell of bacon frying always reminds me of waking up in the mornings as a child and smelling my father cooking breakfast. Like me, he enjoyed eating, and his favorite meal was breakfast.

He also liked to cook, and my mother was more than happy to let him in the kitchen, especially for breakfast.

It was not uncommon in our home to have a big breakfast, especially when the weather started to get cooler. Those are some of my favorite memories.

Occasionally, I hear a song on the radio that brings back memories. There are songs that, believe it or not, I can tell you where I was the first time I heard that particular tune.

I don't know why that happens, but it does. It is a good thing because music brings back good memories.

Certain songs remind me of some of the good times in my life. Whether it be sitting on a bench at Indian Springs in the summer by the swimming hole or driving that ol’ English Ford I had in high school.

I got the love of music from my mother, who enjoyed listening to records. So, the songs she loved to hear always reminded me of her.

Occasionally I will ride through the neighborhood I grew up in and that will always bring back memories.

In many ways, I missed that old neighborhood and the fun I had growing up. It was a simple life back then, it seems, and life was about the next game we were going to play or building a fort in the woods.

Sometimes, bad memories are dredged up as well.

I try not to dwell on those when something happens that reminds me of the tough times in my life.

But they are memories as well and played a large part in my life.

I have learned that if it were not for some of the sad things that happened to me, then some of the good things would not have happened.

One of the best ways I am reminded of the good things however is people. Hardly a day goes by that I don’t run into folks that I know.

I like that a lot. It always makes me feel good to see folks I have known for years, and we always talk about some enjoyable time we had together.

Those conversations leave me feeling good, and after all, isn’t that what memories are supposed to do?

--

--

Byron Spires
The Southern Voice

Writing became my passion later than most people. Since 1992 I have been published in a number of newspapers. I am active in stage plays, musicals and film..