Things my newborn son taught me to become a better designer.

Taufik Dharma Putra
The Space Ape Games Experience
2 min readAug 17, 2016

Having a newborn baby have taught me quite a few things and to my surprise there are actually a quite few takeaways from that experience that I will take when designing my new UI.

Be the Detective!

My son only have one form of communication, he cries and he cries. I need to figure out what he wants quickly or it will be a long night for me. It is also crucial when designing for game as a service because if you don’t figure your design flaws early on you could potentially lose quite a lot of users early.

Don’t get pissed on multiple times!

Nappy changing is a hazardous task, but you will learn very quickly after a few accidents have happened to you. You should also need to remember all of your mistakes and successes from the past when designing UI, so document your processes well and often! Don’t allow yourself open for those unexpected moments again.

If it smells bad, change them!

Your design is no different, don’t let designer pride get the better of you. You need to be able to see flaws in your design and change them when neccessary.

Spend a lot of time with your baby!

I know that your games are piling up but your baby also needs your attention. Same goes with the game you are making, play it often and learn what is good and not so good about it and then improve it.

What your baby like and dislike change very quickly

What looks good now will probably might not be sometime in the future. Do plenty of research and keep up with other products on the market.

Some of the stuff I mentioned above I already know but it is nice to be reminded to me again and coming from the smallest person in my life made it even more special. You never know, he might grow up to be a much better designer than me.

--

--