The Four Noble Truths

What They Are & Why They Matter To You

John Driggs
The Space of Possibility


Photo by Ben Rosett on Unsplash

The Buddha taught only suffering and its end, which is expressed in the Four Noble Truths — the indispensable foundation embraced by all Buddhist traditions and lineages, no matter how far their metaphysics and methodologies may diverge.

So, what are the Four Noble Truths and why are they applicable to you? That will be the topic of today’s episode.

The First Noble Truth | The Truth of Dukkha

Unlike many philosophers, the Buddha’s entire philosophy was compelled by a simple and noble motivation: he wanted to relieve the world of its suffering. Without understanding this motivation at the root of Buddhism, there is no foundation to stand on; the entirety of the Buddhist path sinks into the sands of inadvertency.

This brings us to the Buddha’s First Noble Truth:

1. Life consists of suffering.

Now, at first glance, this may seem both obvious and, at the same time, too strong. I’m sure I don’t need to convince you that suffering exists and is a part of the human condition (or even the whole of conscious life). You’re likely intimately familiar with it.