The Out-of-State Experience: Life of a College Freshman

Anika Schmid
The Spartan Storyteller (2020–2021)
4 min readDec 21, 2021

Thanksgiving is a time to spend time with family and loved ones. For many first-semester college students, it may be their first time returning home since starting their college experience. Exams are right around the corner, and the winter break is in sight. The day before Thanksgiving, Isabella Ruano flies in from Oklahoma, the place she has grown to consider her second home over the past three months.

Pursuing a double major in Musical Theatre and Vocal Performance, Ruano is a first-year college student from Tampa who is adjusting to her new life as she attends Oklahoma City University.

After leaving on August 11, 2021, and an 18-hour car drive, Ruano started her college journey.

Sharing her room with another girl and two suitemates, her dorm is located on the top floor of the building — the third floor. Moving in was not difficult since current students helped her bring everything up.

Before classes began, the week of August 17 was orientation week.

“We were put into small groups to get to know people, and we did an escape room together and some other fun ice-breakers. I think it did help me adjust because I got to know a few people before school started,” said Ruano.

The first day of classes was August 23.

“I was extremely nervous because I didn’t know what to expect, but I was also excited to start this next chapter of my life,” said Ruano.

Since the OCU campus is very small — 104 acres — Ruano has never gotten lost. It only takes 10 minutes to get from each corner of the campus.

She does her homework in between class and then after classes end, giving her typically three hours to do homework each day since she stops at 8 pm.

“To schedule my classes, I looked at the course requirements for my major and found the ones that would give me the best schedule. Then I had to find the course numbers and input them into the class sign-up browser. I did not find signing up for classes to be stressful since I got to sign up for classes before everyone else because I am in the honors program,” said Ruano.

To enter the Honors Program, Ruano had to write two essays. As an honors student, she is required to complete 24 hours of honors-level courses.

Classes end on December 10, and the following week is exams. Winter break lasts until January 10. However, Ruano has a few exams and final projects to complete before she can enjoy this break.

“I have an English Diction exam, a final paper for my liberal arts seminar, juries for voice, two piano final exams, a music theory and aural skills final project, and a tap final exam combo,” said Ruano.

In high school, she was the co-president of their Earth club. Still very passionate about environmental rights and wanting to continue combating climate change, Ruano is a member of the OCU Environmental Club.

Oklahoma uses Central Standard Time, and Florida is an hour ahead in Eastern Standard Time.

“The time difference is not annoying. In fact, I enjoy it because it gives the allusion that I have more time than I had before,” said Ruano.

OCU has different dining options: the Cafeteria, Alvin’s Market convenience store, and Kitchen 1904.

Ruano likes hanging out in her dorm lobby. On the weekends, she practices piano and vocal exercises. Her favorite way to relax is lying in bed listening to the Beatles or jazz music.

College students often take this opportunity in their lives to develop new habits. Ruano has started exercising at the school gym four to five days during the week. She exercises on the elliptical for 20 minutes.

“I am excited to possibly be in a show next semester and grow in my vocal technique. Next semester, I am taking Italian diction, Piano 2, Voice, Composition II, acting II, choir, music theory and aural skills II, and vocal coaching,” Ruano said.

On November 7, Ruano posted a YouTube video about her experience during her first semester.

On the flip side, Alaila McKinney is a freshman at the University of Tampa from Georgia.

“Florida is a lot flatter and less exciting than Georgia to me. It’s definitely warmer and has sporadic weather, but it feels like a vacation every day when I’m not swamped with work! It didn’t take me long to adjust since I’m pretty adaptable,” said McKinney.

As an older sister who always takes care of her siblings, McKinney wanted to have something she could do for herself on her own, having freedom and space from her family.

“Family is important, but so is your independence. UT seemed the best fit, especially for a Marine Science-Biology major like me! Close to the water and not too far from home, it was a pretty good fit, and I’m glad I chose it!” said McKinney.

--

--